13.14.15 MARCH 2020

PARIS – GRANDE HALLE DE LA VILLETTE

10TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION

version française
© Mike Dorsey
EXHIBITION : MIKE DORSEY

This year, we are displaying a selection of Mike Dorsey’s paintings, the artist behind the Mondial du Tatouage poster of 2020. In this exhibit, you will discover his distinct world of pop culture in a japanese ukiyo-e aesthetic.

In Dorsey’s work, we find american movie references, such as Cheech & Chong, A Clockwork Orange, and Silence of the Lambs, which he painted applying traditional methods, creating realms reminiscent of old Japan, all in a surrealistic spirit.

Mike Dorsey began tattooing when he was 31. Coming from Ohio, he worked more than twenty years in his shop, which he left to be in a more intimate setting. He currently focuses more on painting, and works at a mind-blowing pace. You can see his work on his instagram.



© Tom Strom & Jackee Sandelands-Strom
EXHIBITION : TOM STROM &
JACKEE SANDELANDS-STROM

This artist couple is based in Edinburgh, Scotland, where they share a tattoo shop with renowned tattoo artist, Elliott Wells. Through their widely different styles, you will discover two completely opposite worlds:

Below the central forum, will be displayed a series of hypperalistic hands, painted by Jackee Sandelands-Strom. These close-up paintings of hands, far larger than their actual size, are done in dizzying detail. You will delve into many angles and positions, these hands adorned in tattoos. The size of the paintings render the subject mesmerizing, all while being a study of a daily subject.

Tom Strom, penetrates a world of fantasy, far out in the imagination - animals and worlds that approach a somewhat dark aesthetic.

Two styles and two subjects that cross in this exhibit, for a little trip beyond the art of the needle, during your visit of the Mondial du Tatouage. You can see their work on their Instagram pages: @tomstrom & @sandelands.

13.14.15 MARS 2020

PARIS – GRANDE HALLE DE LA VILLETTE

10e ANNIVERSAIRE

english version
© Mike Dorsey
EXPOSITION : MIKE DORSEY

Cette année, nous exposons une sélection de peintures de l’artiste qui a réalisé l'affiche 2020 : Vous y découvrirez l'univers très particulier de Mike Dorsey, mélange de de pop culture avec l’esthétique des estampes japonaises.

On retrouve dans ses œuvres des personnalités issues du cinéma américain, notamment des films Cheech and Chong, Orange Mécanique ou Le Silence de Agneaux : Peints dans une technique traditionnelle dans des paysages rappelant l’univers japonais, ils gardent un caractère surréaliste.

Mike Dorsey a commencé le tatouage il y a 31ans. Originaire de l’Ohio, il a travaillé pendant plus de vingt ans dans sa boutique, qu’il a quittée pour un cadre plus intime. Désormais, il se concentre essentiellement sur la peinture, avec une production à couper le souffle. Vous pouvez suivre son travail sur son instagram.



© Tom Strom & Jackee Sandelands-Strom
EXPOSITION : TOM STROM &
JACKEE SANDELANDS-STROM

Ce couple d’artistes est basé à Edinbourgh en Ecosse, où ils ont un salon de tatouage et opèrent en compagnie du célèbre tatoueur Elliott Wells. Chacun ayant des styles très différents, vous découvrirez deux univers complètement opposés

Sous le forum central, sera exposée une série de mains hyperréalistes peintes par Jackee Sandelands-Strom. Ces plans rapprochés de mains, beaucoup plus grands que leur taille réelle, affichent un détail déroutant. Vous pourrez apprécier ces mains ornées de tatouages sous de nombreux angles et positions. La taille de ces œuvres rend le sujet presque envoûtant, le sujet restant une vision du quotidien.

Tom Strom, quant à lui, étudie un monde de fantaisie complètement sorti de son imagination. Des animaux et des mondes, visitant une esthétique un peu sombre.

Deux styles et deux sujets se rencontrent dans cette exposition pour un petit voyage en dehors de l’art de l’aiguille pendant votre parcours à travers le Mondial du Tatouage. Retrouvez les sur instagram: @tomstrom et @sandelands.